# 8.15. Arrays

8.15.1. Declaration of Array Types

8.15.2. Array Value Input

8.15.3. Accessing Arrays

8.15.4. Modifying Arrays

8.15.5. Searching in Arrays

8.15.6. Array Input and Output Syntax

PostgreSQL allows columns of a table to be defined as variable-length multidimensional arrays. Arrays of any built-in or user-defined base type, enum type, composite type, range type, or domain can be created.

# 8.15.1. Declaration of Array Types

To illustrate the use of array types, we create this table:

CREATE TABLE sal_emp (
    name            text,
    pay_by_quarter  integer[],
    schedule        text[][]
);

As shown, an array data type is named by appending square brackets ([]) to the data type name of the array elements. The above command will create a table named sal_emp with a column of type text (name), a one-dimensional array of type integer (pay_by_quarter), which represents the employee's salary by quarter, and a two-dimensional array of text (schedule), which represents the employee's weekly schedule.

The syntax for CREATE TABLE allows the exact size of arrays to be specified, for example:

CREATE TABLE tictactoe (
    squares   integer[3][3]
);

However, the current implementation ignores any supplied array size limits, i.e., the behavior is the same as for arrays of unspecified length.

The current implementation does not enforce the declared number of dimensions either. Arrays of a particular element type are all considered to be of the same type, regardless of size or number of dimensions. So, declaring the array size or number of dimensions in CREATE TABLE is simply documentation; it does not affect run-time behavior.

An alternative syntax, which conforms to the SQL standard by using the keyword ARRAY, can be used for one-dimensional arrays. pay_by_quarter could have been defined as:

    pay_by_quarter  integer ARRAY[4],

Or, if no array size is to be specified:

    pay_by_quarter  integer ARRAY,

As before, however, PostgreSQL does not enforce the size restriction in any case.

# 8.15.2. Array Value Input

To write an array value as a literal constant, enclose the element values within curly braces and separate them by commas. (If you know C, this is not unlike the C syntax for initializing structures.) You can put double quotes around any element value, and must do so if it contains commas or curly braces. (More details appear below.) Thus, the general format of an array constant is the following:

'{ val1 delim val2 delim ... }'

where delim is the delimiter character for the type, as recorded in its pg_type entry. Among the standard data types provided in the PostgreSQL distribution, all use a comma (,), except for type box which uses a semicolon (;). Each val is either a constant of the array element type, or a subarray. An example of an array constant is:

'{{1,2,3},{4,5,6},{7,8,9}}'

This constant is a two-dimensional, 3-by-3 array consisting of three subarrays of integers.

To set an element of an array constant to NULL, write NULL for the element value. (Any upper- or lower-case variant of NULL will do.) If you want an actual string value “NULL”, you must put double quotes around it.

(These kinds of array constants are actually only a special case of the generic type constants discussed in Section 4.1.2.7. The constant is initially treated as a string and passed to the array input conversion routine. An explicit type specification might be necessary.)

Now we can show some INSERT statements:

INSERT INTO sal_emp
    VALUES ('Bill',
    '{10000, 10000, 10000, 10000}',
    '{{"meeting", "lunch"}, {"training", "presentation"}}');

INSERT INTO sal_emp
    VALUES ('Carol',
    '{20000, 25000, 25000, 25000}',
    '{{"breakfast", "consulting"}, {"meeting", "lunch"}}');

The result of the previous two inserts looks like this:

SELECT * FROM sal_emp;
 name  |      pay_by_quarter       |                 schedule
### 8.15.3. Accessing Arrays

[]()

 Now, we can run some queries on the table. First, we show how to access a single element of an array. This query retrieves the names of the employees whose pay changed in the second quarter:

SELECT name FROM sal_emp WHERE pay_by_quarter[1] <> pay_by_quarter[2];

name

# 8.15.4. Modifying Arrays

An array value can be replaced completely:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter = '{25000,25000,27000,27000}'
    WHERE name = 'Carol';

or using the ARRAY expression syntax:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter = ARRAY[25000,25000,27000,27000]
    WHERE name = 'Carol';

An array can also be updated at a single element:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter[4] = 15000
    WHERE name = 'Bill';

or updated in a slice:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter[1:2] = '{27000,27000}'
    WHERE name = 'Carol';

The slice syntaxes with omitted lower-bound and/or upper-bound can be used too, but only when updating an array value that is not NULL or zero-dimensional (otherwise, there is no existing subscript limit to substitute).

A stored array value can be enlarged by assigning to elements not already present. Any positions between those previously present and the newly assigned elements will be filled with nulls. For example, if array myarray currently has 4 elements, it will have six elements after an update that assigns to myarray[6]; myarray[5] will contain null. Currently, enlargement in this fashion is only allowed for one-dimensional arrays, not multidimensional arrays.

Subscripted assignment allows creation of arrays that do not use one-based subscripts. For example one might assign to myarray[-2:7] to create an array with subscript values from -2 to 7.

New array values can also be constructed using the concatenation operator, ||:

SELECT ARRAY[1,2] || ARRAY[3,4];
 ?column?
### 8.15.5. Searching in Arrays

[]()

 To search for a value in an array, each value must be checked. This can be done manually, if you know the size of the array. For example:

SELECT * FROM sal_emp WHERE pay_by_quarter[1] = 10000 OR pay_by_quarter[2] = 10000 OR pay_by_quarter[3] = 10000 OR pay_by_quarter[4] = 10000;


 However, this quickly becomes tedious for large arrays, and is not helpful if the size of the array is unknown. An alternative method is described in [Section 9.24](functions-comparisons.html). The above query could be replaced by:

SELECT * FROM sal_emp WHERE 10000 = ANY (pay_by_quarter);


 In addition, you can find rows where the array has all values equal to 10000 with:

SELECT * FROM sal_emp WHERE 10000 = ALL (pay_by_quarter);


 Alternatively, the `generate_subscripts` function can be used. For example:

SELECT * FROM (SELECT pay_by_quarter, generate_subscripts(pay_by_quarter, 1) AS s FROM sal_emp) AS foo WHERE pay_by_quarter[s] = 10000;


 This function is described in [Table 9.64](functions-srf.html#FUNCTIONS-SRF-SUBSCRIPTS).

 You can also search an array using the `&&` operator, which checks whether the left operand overlaps with the right operand. For instance:

SELECT * FROM sal_emp WHERE pay_by_quarter && ARRAY[10000];


 This and other array operators are further described in [Section 9.19](functions-array.html). It can be accelerated by an appropriate index, as described in [Section 11.2](indexes-types.html).

 You can also search for specific values in an array using the `array_position` and `array_positions` functions. The former returns the subscript of the first occurrence of a value in an array; the latter returns an array with the subscripts of all occurrences of the value in the array. For example:

SELECT array_position(ARRAY['sun','mon','tue','wed','thu','fri','sat'], 'mon'); array_position

# Tip

Arrays are not sets; searching for specific array elements can be a sign of database misdesign. Consider using a separate table with a row for each item that would be an array element. This will be easier to search, and is likely to scale better for a large number of elements.

# 8.15.6. Array Input and Output Syntax

The external text representation of an array value consists of items that are interpreted according to the I/O conversion rules for the array's element type, plus decoration that indicates the array structure. The decoration consists of curly braces ({ and }) around the array value plus delimiter characters between adjacent items. The delimiter character is usually a comma (,) but can be something else: it is determined by the typdelim setting for the array's element type. Among the standard data types provided in the PostgreSQL distribution, all use a comma, except for type box, which uses a semicolon (;). In a multidimensional array, each dimension (row, plane, cube, etc.) gets its own level of curly braces, and delimiters must be written between adjacent curly-braced entities of the same level.

The array output routine will put double quotes around element values if they are empty strings, contain curly braces, delimiter characters, double quotes, backslashes, or white space, or match the word NULL. Double quotes and backslashes embedded in element values will be backslash-escaped. For numeric data types it is safe to assume that double quotes will never appear, but for textual data types one should be prepared to cope with either the presence or absence of quotes.

By default, the lower bound index value of an array's dimensions is set to one. To represent arrays with other lower bounds, the array subscript ranges can be specified explicitly before writing the array contents. This decoration consists of square brackets ([]) around each array dimension's lower and upper bounds, with a colon (:) delimiter character in between. The array dimension decoration is followed by an equal sign (=). For example:

SELECT f1[1][-2][3] AS e1, f1[1][-1][5] AS e2
 FROM (SELECT '[1:1][-2:-1][3:5]={{{1,2,3},{4,5,6}}}'::int[] AS f1) AS ss;

 e1 | e2
### Tip

 The `ARRAY` constructor syntax (see [Section 4.2.12](sql-expressions.html#SQL-SYNTAX-ARRAY-CONSTRUCTORS)) is often easier to work with than the array-literal syntax when writing array values in SQL commands. In `ARRAY`, individual element values are written the same way they would be written when not members of an array.

# 8.15.阵列

8.15.1. 数组类型的声明

8.15.2. 数组值输入

8.15.3. 访问阵列

8.15.4. 修改数组

8.15.5. 数组搜索

8.15.6. 数组输入和输出语法

PostgreSQL允许将表的列定义为可变长度的多维数组。可以创建任何内置或用户定义的基类型、枚举类型、复合类型、范围类型或域的数组。

# 8.15.1.数组类型的声明

为了说明数组类型的使用,我们创建了以下表格:

CREATE TABLE sal_emp (
    name            text,
    pay_by_quarter  integer[],
    schedule        text[][]
);

如图所示,数组数据类型通过附加方括号来命名([])指向数组元素的数据类型名称。上面的命令将创建一个名为萨卢恩普有一列文本(名称),类型的一维数组整数(按季度支付),按季度表示员工的工资,以及文本(日程),表示员工的每周日程安排。

的语法创建表格允许指定阵列的确切大小,例如:

CREATE TABLE tictactoe (
    squares   integer[3][3]
);

但是,当前的实现忽略了任何提供的数组大小限制,即,行为与未指定长度的数组相同。

当前实现也不强制执行已声明的维度数。特定元素类型的数组都被视为同一类型,而不管大小或维数如何。因此,在创建表格仅仅是文件;它不会影响运行时行为。

另一种语法,通过使用关键字符合SQL标准大堆,可用于一维数组。按季度支付可以定义为:

    pay_by_quarter  integer ARRAY[4],

或者,如果不指定数组大小:

    pay_by_quarter  integer ARRAY,

然而,与之前一样,PostgreSQL在任何情况下都不会强制执行大小限制。

# 8.15.2.数组值输入

要将数组值作为文字常量写入,请将元素值括在大括号内,并用逗号分隔。(如果你知道C,这和初始化结构的C语法没有什么不同。)可以在任何元素值周围加双引号,如果元素值包含逗号或大括号,则必须加双引号。(更多细节见下文。)因此,数组常量的一般格式如下:

'{ val1 delim val2 delim ... }'

哪里*德利姆是类型的分隔符,记录在pg_型进入在PostgreSQL发行版中提供的标准数据类型中,所有数据类型都使用逗号(,),类型除外它使用分号(;).每人瓦尔*是数组元素类型的常量或子数组。数组常数的一个例子是:

'{{1,2,3},{4,5,6},{7,8,9}}'

这个常数是一个由三个子整数组成的二维3乘3数组。

要将数组常量的元素设置为NULL,请写入无效的对于元素值。(任何大写或小写的无效的可以。)如果你想要一个实际的字符串值“NULL”,你必须在它周围加上双引号。

(这些类型的数组常量实际上只是中讨论的泛型类型常量的一个特例。)第4.1.2.7节。常量最初被视为字符串,并传递给数组输入转换例程。可能需要明确的类型规范。)

现在我们可以展示一些插入声明:

INSERT INTO sal_emp
    VALUES ('Bill',
    '{10000, 10000, 10000, 10000}',
    '{{"meeting", "lunch"}, {"training", "presentation"}}');

INSERT INTO sal_emp
    VALUES ('Carol',
    '{20000, 25000, 25000, 25000}',
    '{{"breakfast", "consulting"}, {"meeting", "lunch"}}');

前两次插入的结果如下所示:

SELECT * FROM sal_emp;
 name  |      pay_by_quarter       |                 schedule
### 8.15.3. Accessing Arrays

[]()

 Now, we can run some queries on the table. First, we show how to access a single element of an array. This query retrieves the names of the employees whose pay changed in the second quarter:

从sal_emp中选择名称,按季度支付[1]<>按季度支付[2];

名称

# 8.15.4.修改数组

可以完全替换数组值:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter = '{25000,25000,27000,27000}'
    WHERE name = 'Carol';

或者使用大堆表达式语法:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter = ARRAY[25000,25000,27000,27000]
    WHERE name = 'Carol';

数组也可以在单个元素上更新:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter[4] = 15000
    WHERE name = 'Bill';

或在切片中更新:

UPDATE sal_emp SET pay_by_quarter[1:2] = '{27000,27000}'
    WHERE name = 'Carol';

省略的切片语法*下限和/或上限*也可以使用,但只能在更新非空或零维的数组值时使用(否则,不存在可替换的现有下标限制)。

存储的数组值可以通过分配给尚未存在的元素来放大。以前存在的元素和新分配的元素之间的任何位置都将用空值填充。例如,if数组myarray当前有4个元素,更新后将有6个元素分配给myarray[6]; myarray[5]将包含null。目前,这种方式的放大只允许用于一维数组,而不允许用于多维数组。

下标赋值允许创建不使用基于一的下标的数组。例如,一个人可以分配给myarray[-2:7]创建下标值为-2到7的数组。

还可以使用串联运算符构造新的数组值,||:

SELECT ARRAY[1,2] || ARRAY[3,4];
 ?column?
### 8.15.5. Searching in Arrays

[]()

 To search for a value in an array, each value must be checked. This can be done manually, if you know the size of the array. For example:

从sal_emp中选择*按季度支付[1]=10000或按季度支付[2]=10000或按季度支付[3]=10000或按季度支付[4] = 10000;

 However, this quickly becomes tedious for large arrays, and is not helpful if the size of the array is unknown. An alternative method is described in [Section 9.24](functions-comparisons.html). The above query could be replaced by:

从sal_emp中选择*,其中10000=任意(按季度支付);

 In addition, you can find rows where the array has all values equal to 10000 with:

从sal_emp中选择*其中10000=全部(按季度支付);

 Alternatively, the `generate_subscripts` function can be used. For example:

选择*从(选择按季度支付,生成下标(按季度支付,1)作为sal_emp的s)作为foo,其中按季度支付[s] = 10000;

 This function is described in [Table 9.64](functions-srf.html#FUNCTIONS-SRF-SUBSCRIPTS).

 You can also search an array using the `&&` operator, which checks whether the left operand overlaps with the right operand. For instance:

从sal_emp中选择*按季度和阵列付款[10000];

 This and other array operators are further described in [Section 9.19](functions-array.html). It can be accelerated by an appropriate index, as described in [Section 11.2](indexes-types.html).

 You can also search for specific values in an array using the `array_position` and `array_positions` functions. The former returns the subscript of the first occurrence of a value in an array; the latter returns an array with the subscripts of all occurrences of the value in the array. For example:

选择阵列位置(阵列)[“sun”、“mon”、“tue”、“wed”、“thu”、“fri”、“sat”']“mon”);阵列位置

# 提示

数组不是集合;搜索特定的数组元素可能是数据库设计错误的标志。考虑为每个项目使用一个单独的表,这将是一个数组元素。这将更容易搜索,并且对于大量元素可能会更好地扩展。

# 8.15.6.数组输入和输出语法

数组值的外部文本表示形式包括根据数组元素类型的I/O转换规则解释的项,以及指示数组结构的装饰。装饰物由花括号组成({})数组值周围加上相邻项之间的分隔符。分隔符字符通常是逗号(,)但也可能是其他原因:这取决于典型设置数组的元素类型。在PostgreSQL发行版中提供的标准数据类型中,除了类型之外,所有数据类型都使用逗号,它使用分号(;).在多维数组中,每个维度(行、平面、立方体等)都有自己的花括号级别,并且必须在同一级别的相邻花括号实体之间写入分隔符。

如果元素值是空字符串、包含大括号、分隔符、双引号、反斜杠或空格,或者与单词匹配,那么数组输出例程将在元素值周围加双引号无效的.元素值中嵌入的双引号和反斜杠将被反斜杠转义。对于数字数据类型,可以安全地假设永远不会出现双引号,但是对于文本数据类型,应该准备好处理引号的存在或不存在。

默认情况下,数组维度的下限索引值设置为1.为了用其他下限表示数组,可以在写入数组内容之前显式指定数组下标范围。这个装饰由方括号组成([])围绕每个数组维度的上下限,使用冒号(:)中间的分隔符字符。数组维度装饰后面跟一个等号(=).例如:

SELECT f1[1][-2][3] AS e1, f1[1][-1][5] AS e2
 FROM (SELECT '[1:1][-2:-1][3:5]={{{1,2,3},{4,5,6}}}'::int[] AS f1) AS ss;

 e1 | e2
### Tip

 The `ARRAY` constructor syntax (see [Section 4.2.12](sql-expressions.html#SQL-SYNTAX-ARRAY-CONSTRUCTORS)) is often easier to work with than the array-literal syntax when writing array values in SQL commands. In `ARRAY`, individual element values are written the same way they would be written when not members of an array.